- Bronx Banter - http://www.bronxbanterblog.com -

Good as Gold

Posted By Alex Belth On November 7, 2012 @ 11:45 am In 1: Featured,4: Gold,Banter Gold Standard,Links: Sportswriting,Magazine Writers,Sportswriting | Comments Disabled

[1]

To celebrate our 10th anniversary I’m proud to announce a new feature called “The Banter Gold Standard.”

Three times a week we’ll reprint classic magazine and newspaper stories that you can’t find on-line. In the coming months you’ll be treated to gems from the likes of Pete Dexter, Luc Sante, Gary Cartwright, Grover Lewis, Charlie Pierce, Paul Solotaroff, Richard Ben Cramer, W.C. Heinz, John Lardner, Dan Jenkins, Pat Jordan, Peter Richmond, John Ed Bradley, Leigh Montville, Ira Berkow, Larry Merchant, Bill Nack, Richard Hoffer, Tom Boswell, Tony Kornheiser, Arnold Hano, Joe Flaherty, and Rich Cohen. And that’s just for starters.

The first piece will be up shortly.

In the meantime, dig these links to reprints we’ve already posted round here:

 

Richard Ben Cramer

The Ballad of Johnny France [2]

Serious Business [3] (Yankee Stadium)

 

Pete Dexter

Dying for Art’s Sake [4] (LeRoy Neiman)

No Trespassing [5] (Jim Brown)

The Apprenticeship of Randall Cobb [6] (Tex Cobb)

Two for Toozday [7] (John Matuszak)

LeeRoy, He Ain’t Here No More [8] (LeeRoy Yarbrough)

The Old Man and the River [9] (Norman Maclean)

 

W.C. Heinz

One Throw [10] (Short Story)

The Happiest Hooligan of them All [11] (Pepper Martin)

Death of a Racehorse [12]

Speaking of Sports [13] (Howard Cosell)

Maybe Tomorrow, Maybe the Next Day (Jeremy Vernon [14])

 

 

Pat Jordan

Trouble in Paradise [15] (Steve and Cyndy Garvey)

Breaking the Wall (Burt Reynolds [16])

Bad [17] (Rorion Gracie)

The Curious Childhood of an 11-Year Old Beauty Queen [18]

The Horse Lovers [19] (TV movie of the week)

Inside Marilyn Chambers [20]

A Different Drummer [21]

Running Cars [22]

The Haircut [23]

Dad’s Last Visit [24]

 

George Kimball

Opening Day at Fenway Park [25]

Fighting and Drinking with the Rats at Yankee Stadium [26]

 

Carlo Rotella

Bedtime Story [27] (Marvin Hagler)

 

John Schulian

One Night Only [28] (Levon Helm)

My Ears are Bent [29] (Joseph Mitchell)

No Regrets: A Hard-Boiled Life [30] (James Crumley)

The Professional [31] (George Kimball)

Jack Mann [32] (An Appreciation by John Schulian, Tom Callahan, and Dave McKenna)

Bet a Million [33] (Vic Ziegel)

 

Robert Ward

Reggie Jackson in No-Man’s Land  [34]

[Photo Via: Creative Flourishes [35]]


Article printed from Bronx Banter: http://www.bronxbanterblog.com

URL to article: http://www.bronxbanterblog.com/2012/11/07/good-as-gold-2/

URLs in this post:

[1] Image: http://www.bronxbanterblog.com/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2012/11/SDC12949a.jpg

[2] The Ballad of Johnny France: http://www.bronxbanterblog.com/2012/01/09/the-ballad-of-johnny-france/

[3] Serious Business: http://www.bronxbanterblog.com/2010/10/22/serious-business/

[4] Dying for Art’s Sake: http://www.bronxbanterblog.com/2012/06/21/in-living-color-the-pop-art-king/

[5] No Trespassing: http://www.bronxbanterblog.com/2011/09/01/no-tresspassing/

[6] The Apprenticeship of Randall Cobb: http://www.bronxbanterblog.com/2011/08/22/the-apprenticeship-of-randall-cobb/

[7] Two for Toozday: http://www.bronxbanterblog.com/2011/08/09/two-for-toozday-pete-dexter-meets-john-matuszak/

[8] LeeRoy, He Ain’t Here No More: http://www.bronxbanterblog.com/2011/08/01/leeroy-he-aint-here-no-more-2/

[9] The Old Man and the River: http://www.bronxbanterblog.com/2011/08/17/the-old-man-and-the-river/

[10] One Throw: http://www.bronxbanterblog.com/2010/11/16/one-throw/

[11] The Happiest Hooligan of them All: http://www.bronxbanterblog.com/2011/07/25/the-heinz-files-part-one/

[12] Death of a Racehorse: http://www.bronxbanterblog.com/2011/07/27/the-heinz-files-ii/

[13] Speaking of Sports: http://www.bronxbanterblog.com/2011/11/29/the-heinz-files-iii-speaking-of-sports/

[14] Jeremy Vernon: http://www.bronxbanterblog.com/2011/12/07/the-heinz-files-iv-make-em-laugh/

[15] Trouble in Paradise: http://www.bronxbanterblog.com/2012/03/12/trouble-in-paradise/

[16] Burt Reynolds: http://www.bronxbanterblog.com/2010/04/28/breaking-the-wall/

[17] Bad: http://www.bronxbanterblog.com/2012/03/06/lethal-weapon/

[18] The Curious Childhood of an 11-Year Old Beauty Queen: http://www.bronxbanterblog.com/2011/09/15/the-curious-childhood-of-an-11-year-old-beauty-queen/

[19] The Horse Lovers: http://www.bronxbanterblog.com/2012/01/03/the-horse-lovers/

[20] Inside Marilyn Chambers: http://www.bronxbanterblog.com/2011/11/15/inside-marilyn-chambers/

[21] A Different Drummer: http://www.bronxbanterblog.com/2009/09/02/bad-ass/

[22] Running Cars: http://www.bronxbanterblog.com/2011/09/08/running-cars/

[23] The Haircut: http://www.bronxbanterblog.com/2011/05/05/the-haircut/

[24] Dad’s Last Visit: http://www.bronxbanterblog.com/2011/12/19/dads-last-visit/

[25] Opening Day at Fenway Park: http://www.bronxbanterblog.com/2012/04/05/opening-day-at-fenway/

[26] Fighting and Drinking with the Rats at Yankee Stadium: http://www.bronxbanterblog.com/2011/12/29/fighting-and-drinking-with-the-rats-at-yankee-stadium/

[27] Bedtime Story: http://www.bronxbanterblog.com/2012/09/10/bedtime-story/

[28] One Night Only: http://www.bronxbanterblog.com/2012/04/19/one-night-only/

[29] My Ears are Bent: http://www.bronxbanterblog.com/2011/12/29/my-ears-are-bent/

[30] No Regrets: A Hard-Boiled Life: http://www.bronxbanterblog.com/2011/12/01/one-last-whiskey-dawn/

[31] The Professional: http://www.bronxbanterblog.com/2011/07/08/the-professional-2/

[32] Jack Mann: http://www.bronxbanterblog.com/2011/06/15/mann-oh-mann-2/

[33] Bet a Million: http://www.bronxbanterblog.com/2010/07/24/bet-a-million/

[34] Reggie Jackson in No-Man’s Land : http://www.bronxbanterblog.com/2012/04/30/reggie-jackson-in-no-mans-land/

[35] Creative Flourishes: http://creativeflourishes.blogspot.com/2010/05/gold-key-fobs.html

Copyright © 2011 Bronx Banter. All rights reserved.