"A New York Treasure" --Village Voice

Hurry Up and Wait

Share: Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share via email %PRINT_TEXT


1 rbj   ~  Sep 28, 2009 4:50 pm

Via Peter:

YANKEES (100-56)
Gardner CF
Cabrera RF
Damon LF
Posada DH
Cano 2B
Hinske 3B
Miranda 1B
Cervelli C
Pena SS

Pitching: RHP Chad Gaudin (1-0, 3.71).

Pretty much a spring training lineup. Folks are in town, so I'll miss the game.

2 RIYank   ~  Sep 28, 2009 5:08 pm

Hey, sorry, I've already posted this, but I have to repeat it lest it be buried in deadtrhead.

Did anyone remark on the following unbelievable Jon Miller comment during the game?
Joe Morgan had pointed out that on a tag-up the runner can leave as soon as the ball hits the fielder's glove. Miller agreed, and claimed to have seen a game in which a runner scored from third on a foul pop that the fielder touched and then dropped. He said he saw this play.

I swear, Joe Morgan looked like a giant in the booth. He was Dustin Pedroia standing between two five year olds, towering over them like a giant. A huge, gritty, giant.

3 The Hawk   ~  Sep 28, 2009 5:31 pm

If Ted Berg is available, why have anyone else? He's Ted ****ing Berg!

[2] Joe Morgan gets a lot of hate and he is a terrible blowhard. But Jon Miller is an idiot and a clown of epic proportions. As I remarked to a friend yesterday, along with Phillips they are truly the three horsemen of the broadcasting apocalypse.

4 51cq24   ~  Sep 28, 2009 5:53 pm

[2] i just found what you meant (this isn't actually the game thread). you're right that a foul ball not caught is a dead ball (rule 5.09(e)), but if it's ruled a catch and then a drop on the transfer or something, the runner can score. i'm not positive about what happens if a foul ball isn't caught but it's obvious that the fielder purposely bobbled it to avoid a sac fly. a runner can advance as soon as the ball touches the glove so that a fielder can't purposely bobble a ball until he's in range to make a good throw home. so what if a fielder purposely bobbles a foul ball? what if he purposely drops it only after realizing it's foul?

5 RIYank   ~  Sep 28, 2009 6:16 pm

Damn, you're right, it's not the game thread. Oh well.

There's no requirement that you catch the foul fly; it's perfectly legal to bobble it on purpose. I think this is a good rule; I can see your side of it, but I prefer it this way. But really the point is that Jon Miller doesn't know the rule and made up a story that's impossible.

feed Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share via email
"This ain't football. We do this every day."
--Earl Weaver